Annual Research Recognition Awards

Each year, the Office of the Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies invites faculty and staff of the College of Medicine and the Penn State Hershey Medical Center to submit nominations for the Faculty Research Recognition Awards. The 2015 Awards Ceremony was held in conjunction with the Dean’s Spring Lecture on Tuesday, May 12.

Started in 2014, the Faculty Research Recognition Awards honor the outstanding research achievements of Penn State Hershey investigators. The event highlights investigators who have distinguished themselves in several areas of research. Faculty are recognized through awards for the following categories: Outstanding Research Publication, Distinguished Early Stage Investigator, Outstanding Collaborative Research, Outstanding Research Mentor and Excellence in Education Research. The culmination of the event is the announcement of the Career Research Excellence Award honoring an individual who has dedicated their career to enhancing the research mission through education, mentorship and collaborative efforts to further advance science.

Outstanding Research Publication

This faculty award recognizes a leader, original thinker and individual whose groundbreaking research publication has contributed to the advancement of research.

2015 recipient: Clare Sample, Ph.D., Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

Distinguished Early Stage Investigator

This award recognizes the work of a faculty member (assistant professor, instructor, research associate) within five years of appointment at Penn State, demonstrating significant growth and impact in one or more subject areas.

2015 recipient: George Lucian Moldovan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Outstanding Collaborative Research

This award recognizes the research efforts of a group of investigators that transcend the traditional boundaries of academic disciplines to further the research mission.

2015 recipients (13 individual awards): Hong-Gang Wang, Ph.D., Louis High Berstler Professor, Department of Pediatrics and Pharmacology; Jong Yun, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology; James Adair, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Material Sciences and Engineering, Director of Ceramic and Composite Material Center; Shantu Amin, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pharmacology; Brian Barth, Ph.D., Instructor, Cancer Institute; David Claxton, M.D., Physician, Professor, Department of Medicine; Dhimant Desai, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology; Jeremy Hengst, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology; Jiangang Liao, Ph.D., Professor, Public Health Sciences; Robert Paulson, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, Chair of Intercollegiate Graduate Degree Program in Genetics; Arun Sharma, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology; Bruce Stanley, Ph.D., Director of Research Resources, Director of Proteomics and Mass Spectrometry, Co-Director of Translational Technology and Clinical and Translational Science, Director of Basic Research Science Cores; Junjia Zhu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Division of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Excellence in Education Research

This award recognizes scholarly inquiry and investigation related to education, educational processes, and dissemination and practical application of research results. This award is offered every two years and did not accept submissions for 2015.

Outstanding Research Mentor

This award recognizes outstanding research mentoring. It is intended to be a cumulative award for consistently successful mentoring that yields publications, funded training or research proposals and career advancement of pre-doctoral or post-doctoral trainees or junior faculty.

2015 recipient: Christopher Sciamanna, M.D., M.P.H., Physician, Chief of General Internal Medicine, Professor, Department of Medicine and Public Health Sciences

Career Research Excellence Award

This award recognizes the outstanding achievements of an investigator who has dedicated his/her career to enhancing the research mission through education, mentorship and collaborative efforts to further advance science. Nominees are initiated by the Research Team.

2015 recipient: Mary Elaine Eyster, M.D., Physician, Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicine and Pathology, Director of Hemophilia, Program Medical Director for Hemostasis and Special Coagulation

Full Award Recipients Lists